top of page

THE WORD FOR TODAY. WEDNESDAY 27 DECEMBER, 2017. SAY YES TO GOD

“Then I said, ‘Here am I! Send me.’” Isaiah 6:8 NKJV

WILLIAM CAREY is referred to as “the father of modern missions.” But the number of his accomplishments in India was almost equalled by the number of obstacles he overcame just to get there. He was told by a group of ministers, “If God wants to save the heathen, young man, He will do it without your help or ours.” Carey was not a career missionary. He was a young Englishman in poor health with a pregnant wife and small children. He was just like the rest of us—trying to make ends meet and keep life together. But he had something else, a burning question he could not escape: “Who will reach the lost in India, if I don’t go?” Looking back later, Carey realized that the challenges he overcame at home were what qualified him to succeed in his God-given assignment abroad. The same thing happened to Isaiah the prophet: “I heard the voice of the Lord, saying: ‘Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?’ Then I said, ‘Here am I! Send me.’ And He said, ‘Go, and tell this people’” (vv. 8-9 NKJV). But before Isaiah was qualified to go, he needed a life-changing encounter with God. “Then one of the seraphim flew to me, having in his hand a live coal which he had taken with the tongs from the altar. And he touched my mouth with it, and said: ‘Behold, this has touched your lips; your iniquity is taken away, and your sin is purged’” (vv. 6-7 NKJV). Do you sense God preparing you and getting ready to send you? If so, say yes.

Bible In A Year: Zech. 7-8, Rev. 18


bottom of page